Yoga Sutra 28

Sutra 28

By the dedicated practice of the various aspects of yoga, impurities are destroyed, the crown of wisdom radiates in glory.

First, lets review the 8 limbs of yoga. There are many different branches of yoga, but the limbs are the same for everyone according to Patanjlai, no matter which branch you are drawn to practice. The limbs are:

Yama and Niyama’s (for Christians our ten commandments)

asana: awareness of body

pranayama: awareness of breath or energy

pratyahara: awareness of the senses and sensory transcendence (for Christians- awareness of our sinful natures and mastery of will to follow God’s commandments)

Dharana: concentration (meditation on God’s word, nature, sin etc..)

Dhyana: contemplation (meditation on God)

Samadhi: union with God living in full awareness

This sutra says that when we practice yoga’s limbs with dedication and love, God will grace us with his presence. We will live for and with God on earth. In his commentary, Iyengar also states that “ this wisdom and achievement keep us innocent and free of pride.” For when practicing yoga we know that it is God that is giving us his grace, not us achieving it. For Christians practicing yoga this should be easy for we already know in all of life we can be filled with gratitude to Jesus, and in yoga practice, it is no different. I keep being drawn to the fact that we have to seek God at all times. This passage from Psalm 119 stands out:

“How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word.
With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You.”
Psalm 119:9-11